mains froides, cœur chaud

Trying to squeeze this in before midnight tonight, here is the now traditional list of wonderful 2013 things to remember and be grateful for:

1. Rang in NYE 2013 in Woodstock with friends, sparklers, and dancing outside in a tutu and furry mittens. (Too appropriate if you know me).

2. Went to the wedding of two of my best friends in Miami. I had to learn and perform a dance for said beautiful wedding haha which was an experience in itself.

3. Went on a spontaneous trip to San Francisco, and while it was a short visit, especially for my first time, SF is definitely my food place.

4. I went to JLP quite a few times (5 this year, I think) and it continues to be my happy place to recharge and re appreciate and refocus.

5. Celebrated grandma’s birthday in Moscow, cooking dinner for the family (a tough crowd to please).

{Had a whirlwind sweptaway reunion with B. All roses, legs, and making a scene.}

6. Went to Coachella!! Checking that off the 30 bucket list. It made me feel old but was an entirely exhilarating and scenic time. Stars and the xx and Phoenix were amazing and N & I had a beautiful Palm Springs wknd.

7. I fell in love with Austin. Because it’s hot but green, and because breakfast TACOS!, and niceness and lowkey existence is not dead.

8. Celebrated mom & dad’s birthdays with a trip to Maine which was just gorgeous. It coincided with a Top Chef weekend so I got to cook and eat and explore and everything all at once was gorgeous.

9. Tried not too mope too much. Was strong and resolved a long-standing situation. Maybe not in an entirely satisfying way, but in a way that, for better or worse, did lead to a final resolution.

9. Went to the French Open! Triumphant return, also by Rafa. weather was coooold.

10. Went to the US Open. A whole lot. It’s some of the happiest two weeks of the year for me, every year.

11. Stayed up all night and watched the sunrise on the Brooklyn bridge. Sometimes we get complacent about noticing this beautiful place we live in.

12. Had a glamorous and educational trip to Cognac. Cooked, drank, ate, and learned. Then drove to Bordeaux, Mirepoix (cutest hotel ever), and to JLP.

13. Had my BFF from Moscow come to France for my birthday so celebrated it with loved ones and a boat trip to St Tropez. I miss having a tan.

14. Went to Nantucket for a brief visit but perfect New England summery nights at Cisco Beach.

15. Continued the perfect New England summer in Newport for the folk fest where we all met up in a field and we happy and singing along to genuine music.

16. Persevered through the hottest day ever for bday brunch back in NY. Really appreciated my true friends.

17. Made new friends!:)

18. Enjoyed the beautiful autumn at home sans natural disasters this year (knock on wood). Fall feats galore.

19. Cooked an epic Thanksgiving food feast. Lucky to spend it with both my friends and family.

20. Took a whirlwind trip to London for D’s 30th. Visited my loves P & S who collected Stylists for me.

21. Finally made it out to Arizona to visit Lyn and see all the cactuses.

22. Became a certifiable Bar Method Addict. It’s an amazing thing in my life, even if it’s too late for me to become a ballerina;)

23. Had a perfect and long-awaited meal at Frenchie with the fraise de bois menu.

24. Had lots of Moma nights. And perplexing modern art.

25. Visited a summery Chicago, full of art and boats.

26. Went to Munich {and the Oktoberfest that did not happen}

27. Danced at PS1 Warm Up nights, sharing a perfect NY moment on the roof in Billyburg.

28. Saw friends run in the marathon! So proud.

29. Did Aerial with V as my bday present. Holy shit haha

30. Visited the Rain room.

31. Saw Rafa at the garden and further sports triumphs.

32. Saw Chels at Yankee stadium on my way to the airport (that’s what I call dedication).

33. Spent Christmas in JLP (a bit monsooned but happy) + took a day trip to a very festive Aix en Provence.

34. Took my breath away, high up in the Swiss Alps.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment